276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Max and the Millions: 1

£3.995£7.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Solid state physics Quantum theory Chemical bonds SCIENCE Physics Condensed Matter Física do estado sólido Mecânica quântica He is singled out by Mr. Pitt, who interacts with him patronizingly and shows him off to visitors like he's a circus attraction. Mr. Pitt raises his voice and overenunciates at Max, and does things like having a chair set up at the front of assembly with a sign in large red letters, "special seat." Every deaf child knows a well-meaning but clueless adult like Mr. Pitt. that you have any inquiry or need to eliminate any substance recorded here if it's not too much trouble, go A fast-paced and enjoyable adventure that encourages readers to appreciate the small things in life. ( Kirkus) Think ‘Honey I Shrunk the Kids’ in Book form. This was a new book for me and as the text for Y4 on T1 I’ve battled to read it over the holidays, ready to get some planning done.

MAX AND THE MILLIONS | Kirkus Reviews

I think it's a wonderful book with tiny people the size of a pea. My favourite part is when Luke reunites the tribes-red blue and green. When Mr Darrow disappears and has still not reappeared at the end of the summer holidays, Max begins to worry. Escaping the Sparkle Unicorn Club for little girls which has been hosted by the school over the summer, Max goes to Mr Darrow's room and discovers a tiny civilisation has come to life and grown all over Mr Darrow's room. But the miniature world is on the brink of war and Max must team up with his roommate Sasha and tiny King Luke to save the miniature world from the school's horrible headmaster. Max doesn’t enjoy being the only orphan at St Goliath’s Boarding school. That and his hearing aids make him different to his classmates. The only person who he feels at ease with is Mr Darrow, the school caretaker. They both love modelling, but Mr Darrow has taken his a huge step further – he has tiny people in his models, and they are alive! In the vein of The Borrowers and The Indian in the Cupboard, this is an imaginative, irresistible, and incredible exploration into what happens when one boy discovers a kingdom of tiny people. In my opinions, this book would be highly effective as a discussion starter in PSHE, when looking at relationships and differences between each and every pupil.

Then Mr Darrow, the school caretaker and fellow modeller, goes missing. Max must follow his parting instruction:

Max is used to spending time alone - it's difficult to make friends in a big, chaotic school when you're deaf. He prefers to give his attention to the little things in life... like making awesome, detailed replica models. Then Mr Darrow, the school caretaker and fellow modeller, goes missing. Max must follow his parting instruction: 'Go to my room. You'll know what to do.'There on the floor he finds a pile of sand ... and in the sand is Mr Darrow's latest creation... a tiny boy, no bigger than a raisin, Luke, Prince of the Blues. And behind the tiny boy... millions of others - a thriving, bustling, sprawling civilization!... This wonderful novel is a great read for 7-9-year olds; also, a great read for developing readers who are able to understand depth behind the principle of the story and what exactly is going on. Fantastic premise, nice to have a hearing impaired hero, loved the multi-perspective narrative. This would make a really effective children's TV series. Max is used to spending time alone – it’s difficult to make friends in a big, chaotic school when you’re deaf. He prefers to give his attention to the little things in life . . . like making awesome, detailed replica models. Then Mr Darrow, the school caretaker and fellow modeller, goes missing. Max must follow his parting instruction: ‘Go to my room. You’ll know what to do.’ There on the floor he finds a pile of sand . . . and in the sand is Mr Darrow’s latest creation. A tiny boy, no bigger than an ant. Luke, Prince of the Blues. And behind the tiny boy. . . millions of others – a thriving, bustling, sprawling civilization! A civilization that needs Max’s help . . . While Max and his newfound friend Sasha fight to protect the Floor from their evil headmaster, the people on the floor must fight to save it from being destroyed by all-out war. Together they have to learn to work together to save the tiny world in this hilarious, fast paced adventure. Max is used to spending time alone – it’s difficult to make friends in a big, chaotic school when you’re deaf. He prefers to give his attention to the little things in life . . . like making awesome, detailed replica models.

Max and the Millions by Ross Montgomery | Waterstones

This first book by Paralympian and TV presenter Ade Adepitan offers a fascinating picture of his childhood. With a light touch and plenty of wit, he recalls the influences and events that helped to shape his life and career.Entertaining, accessible and inspiring. Alongside the adventure, and with a light hand, Montgomery successfully touches on challenges such as coping with buzzing hearing aids, lazy assumptions about deafness, and people’s inept attempts to communicate better by shouting. See Faber authors in conversation and hear readings from their work at Faber Members events, literary festivals and at book shops across the UK.Max, a white boy who is the only deaf student and hearing-aid user in his English boarding school, loves building models, but his world changes when his brilliant mentor, Mr. Darrow, the school janitor, inexplicably disappears. Author Luke Palmer introduces his new book, Play (Firefly Press) about four boys growing up together, the challenges, the friendships, and what hap... Without his aids, Max believes that “he would have to rely on lip-reading alone from now on.” This, despite his explicit knowledge that signed languages exist, and the fact he can read and write fluently. He uses gesture and writing multiple times throughout, so he's not clueless or helpless. It's not too difficult to at least come up with a signed system (like a visual Morse code). The melodrama of this statement is, of course, childlike, but again, it becomes a non-issue in that Mr. Darrow is able to create magical hearing aids that practically dissolve all communication barriers.

Max and the Millions - ReadingZone Max and the Millions - ReadingZone

At time this books violent language startled me; it’s been a while since I’ve read the line ‘how many blood sacrifices would you like?’. But it never becomes distasteful. I had to remind myself that I am a very different reader from an eight year old. It is always handled with a pinch of humour. It may feel like too much for an overprotective adult reader, but not for a child. In Max and the Millions Ross Montgomery takes readers in to the tiny world of Floor that the Blues, Reds and Greens call home. They are at war for the control of Floor but little do they know there is something much bigger that could mean the end of their civilisation. Demon is coming and he is bringing his vacuum cleaner! There is one person who can save them and his name is Max. Although Max needs hearing aids to hear it is his ability to lip read that helps him to communicate with these microscopic people and help them when they need it the most.

Take The Carpet People by Terry Pratchett, Gulliver's Travels by Jonathan Swift, and Gregor the Overlander by Suzann Collins, mix them together, and add a surprising twist. This will make children think a lot about the size of things, the interpretations and different viewpoints in a situation. Max's size gives him a new stature to the Floor people, their world is seen as something tiny and insignificant by some full-size characters. Faber Members have access to live and online events, special editions and book promotions, and articles and quizzes through our weekly e-newsletter. Max is lonely. Sent to a boarding school by his Great-Aunt, he has struggled to make friends due to being deaf. His love of small models leads to an unlikely friendship with the school caretaker, Mr Darrow, who nurtures Max's talent in model-making. But when Mr Darrow goes missing, it is up to Max to save the day. Max is used to spending time alone - it's difficult to make friends in a big, chaotic school when you're deaf. He prefers to give his attention to the little things in life... like making awesome, detailed replica models.

Max and the Millions by Ross Montgomery: 9781524718848

When a poison tide flowing across the ocean threatens their island, Roz works with the resident creatures to ensure that they will have clean water, but the destruction of vegetation and crowding of habitats jeopardize everyone’s survival. Brown’s tale of environmental depredation and turmoil is by turns poignant, graceful, endearing, and inspiring, with his (mostly) gentle robot protagonist at its heart. Though Roz is different from the creatures she lives with or encounters—including her son, Brightbill the goose, and his new mate, Glimmerwing—she makes connections through her versatile communication abilities and her desire to understand and help others. When Roz accidentally discovers that the replacement body given to her by Dr. Molovo is waterproof, she sets out to seek help and discovers the human-engineered source of the toxic tide. Brown’s rich descriptions of undersea landscapes, entertaining conversations between Roz and wild creatures, and concise yet powerful explanations of the effect of the poison tide on the ecology of the island are superb. Simple, spare illustrations offer just enough glimpses of Roz and her surroundings to spark the imagination. The climactic confrontation pits oceangoing mammals, seabirds, fish, and even zooplankton against hardware and technology in a nicely choreographed battle. But it is Roz’s heroism and peacemaking that save the day. From Costa-shortlisted superstar, a highly anticipated standalone adventure about what happens when you find a tiny, living, breathing civilization on the floor of your school dorm room. A delightful whiff of Monty Python . . . Ross Montgomery’s writing is often pure Douglas Adams.’ SFXAdventure Stories (Children's/Ya) Fantasy & Magical Realism (Children's/Ya) JUVENILE FICTION--Action & Adventure--General JUVENILE FICTION--Fantasy & Magic JUVENILE FICTION--General Children's stories Fiction Juvenile works JUVENILE FICTION -- General JUVENILE FICTION -- Fantasy & Magic JUVENILE FICTION -- Action & Adventure -- General Read about the Faber story, find out about our unique partnerships, and learn more about our publishing heritage, awards and present-day activity.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment